Boys Varsity Cross Country · BHS runners placefirst in Division I at EC Invitational

  Place Points
Batesville High School 1st 19

The Batesville Bulldog cross country team opened up the morning as the gun went off to start their race at 9 a.m. Although there were 13 teams in the race, in the end it was divided by two divisions. Batesville was in Division I and totaled a low score of 19.

Batesville’s senior Adam Moster was the over champion for Division I with a time of 16:46. He was very closely followed by teammates Joshua Myers (2nd, 16:49) and Ean Loichinger, (3rd, 16:54). There was a brief gap then Batesville had three more right in a row led by Benjamin Moster (6th, 17:25), Adam Hollowell (7th, 17:28) and Daren Smith (8th, 17:55). Also placing in the top 20 for the Bulldogs was Nathan Villani (13th, 18:44).

There was also a junior varsity race today. Although they did not score the race as far as team scores go, they did give awards to the top 10. Charlie Laymon was the overall JV champion with a time of 18:53…beating the rest of the field by 43 seconds. Coming in 2nd and 3rd were Will Nuhring and Kasin Hughes, respectively. Taking 7th-10th spots were Luke Nuhring, Landon Gutzwiller, Alex Livers and Luke Esser.

There were also several personal bests from the morning, including Hollowell, Nuhring and Hughes.