Bulldogs News · BHS runners sweep sectional team titles

Both the girls and boys Batesville High School Cross Country teams as they defended their sectional titles at Moores Hillwhere South Dearborn hosted the 12 team meet.  In fact, all 14 of Batesville’s varsity runners were named to the All-Sectional Team by individually placing in the top 20 of their race. T
he girls raced first at 9:30 with overcast skies and the temperature in the mid 60’s with a little bit of humidity in the air. Greensburg’s Brenner Hanna was the overall winner with a time of 19:03 as Batesville’s Ava Hanson was the sectional runner-up at 19:27.  Maria Lopez raced through at 19:50 claiming 4th, Sophie Myers was 7th (20:10), Lily Pinckley placed 8th (20:29), Megan Allgeier 9th (20:43), Madison Rahschulte 12th (21:06) and Trysta Vierling crossed the line in 13th place (21:24). This gave the Bulldogs a low score of 30 points with Greensburg capturing 2nd with 75, just in front of East Central with 77.  Taking the 4th and 5th team spots and advancing on to regionals next week were South Ripley (115) and South Dearborn (117).
The boys stepped up to the line at 10:15, pretty much in the same conditions as the girls and the Bulldogs looked very strong right from the start, according to coach Lisa Gausman.
Batesville captured the first two spots with Benjamin Moster claiming the individual Sectional Champion title with a time of 16:21. Ean Loichinger was sectional runner-up with a time of 16:46.  Adam Hollowell finished in 6th (17:21), Eli Loichinger 8th (17:45), followed closely by Daren Smith in 10th (17:51), Will Nuhring 15th (18:04) with Nathan Villani chasing him in 17th (18:07). These finishes gave the boys a low score of 27 points with East Central coming in 2nd at 67 points. Greensburg got 3rd (100), Rising Sun 4th (137) and claiming the 5th spot and advancing to Regionals is Oldenburg Academy with 149 points.
Batesville did have two personal best this morning and they were Lopez and Nuhring.
The Bulldogs will now have a week to prepare for regional competition next Saturday at Franklin Community High School.
(Full results of today can be found on stuartroadracing.com)