Bulldogs News · BHS runners compete in Greensburg Invitational

Batesville High School cross country team traveled to Greensburg to take part in their 14 team Invitational.  The rain stayed away and we even saw a rainbow to cap off the night.
Both the girls and the boys ran away with the championship trophies beating their competition by double or more of their points.  The girls scored a low 34 points. East Central was second with 68 followed by Greensburg (77), South Ripley (89) and Franklin County (158) to finish out the top 5 teams.
The girls were led by Liz Loichinger in second place with a time of 20:15, followed closely by teammate Lily Pinckley in third (20:16).  Trysta Vierling was the third Bulldog runner to cross the finish line at 8th (21:17).  Coming in fourth for the team was Maria Lopez in 12th, running the only personal best for the night (21:37).  She was followed closely by Sarah Ripperger and Katie Olsen, 14th and 15th, respectively.  Finishing out the varsity 7 was Ava Ralston placing 31st.
The boys had a tremendous showing as all seven of the varsity squad placed in the top 19 as they scored a very low score of 23, beating the field by 34 points.  Greensburg was runner up at 57 points,  while East Central took third with 68.
The Batesville boys claimed the first three spots of the race led by Ean Loichinger (16:57), Adam Moster claimed 2nd (17:19) followed by teammate Joshua Myers in 3rd (17:29).  Benjamin Moster placed 6th (17:53), Dillon Murray 12th, Adam Hollowell 17th and Nathan Eckstein 19th.
On the junior varsity side, although it was not team scored, the Batesville girls had four in the top 10 with Britany Venis leading the way for the dogs claiming second.  She was followed by Alyssa Linville (5th) and Carly Fitzpatrick (8th) and Sophie Brown (9th).  The boys JV team took the first six spots and were led by Luke Esser in first. Daren Smith finished in 2nd, followed by Nathan Villani, Luke Nuhring, Landon Gutzwiller and Alex Livers taking the 3rd-6th spots.  Also receiving awards were Will Nuhring (12th), Kasin Hughes (18th) and Ellliott Mertz (24th).